Bullitt County History

Bullitt County in 1852

In 1852, Thomas B. Monroe, Jr. edited a volume entitled A New Kentucky State Register which was published in Louisville by Hull & Bros. Beginning on page 64, he provided details about Bullitt County.

He began with general details by writing, "Bullitt County was formed in 1796. Situated in the North-Western part of the State, on the Ohio river, at the mouth of Salt River; contains 169,632 acres of land, average value per acre $6.08. Population in 1840, 6334; in 1850, 6774. In 5th Congressional District, 19th Senatorial District, and 6th Judicial District."

He named Shepherdsville as the county seat, and gave its population as 400.

Next he identified the county officials, as follows.

Clerk of Circuit Court - Robert F. Samuels
Judge of County Court - William C. Short
Clerk of County Court - Robert F. Samuels
County Attorney - William Wilson
Sheriff - Henry C. Thomas
Coroner - Alban S. Purdy
Jailor - Theodoric Travis
Assessor - Samuel N. Smith
Surveyor - J. D. S. Peacock
Notary Public - D. S. Peacock

Justices of the Peace by district:

  1. Napoleon B. Small, David L. Brooks
  2. Orville O. Brown, Wm. Barnes, Jr.
  3. George W. Hardy, Wm. Shawles
  4. Rowan J. Stoner, Alfred J. Robards

Constables by district:

  1. James Croan, Jr.
  2. Joseph H. Wright
  3. Richard W. Deats
  4. Richard A. Wise

Next, he named the county's attorneys at law. In Shepherdsville were William R. Thompson, R. H. Field, William Wilson, H. Clay Kalfus, and A. B. Field. In Mt. Washington was Nathaniel P. Saunders.

Physicians in Shepherdsville included S. A. McKay, J. F. Berkhead, A. S. Pardy, H. Clay Crist, and R. A. Shadburn. In Mt. Washington were S. M. Hobbs, and George E. Rogers. Pittstown's physician was Thomas P. Horrell, and out in the county were B. F. Summers, B. B. Wooton, J. H. Saunders, and J. W. Stallings.

He concluded by identifying the merchants of the county. In Shepherdsville were A. J. Field & Brother, S. N. Smith, John Nusz, Robert L. Byron, Hogland & Applegate, and A. S. Burleigh. In Mt. Washington were William Smith, J. C. Burky, Joseph Hough, J. W. Showater, and Linton Smith. And in the county at large were S. R. Samuels, W. B. Holsclaw, McCulloch & Raymon, Lot Morgan, V. P. Hudson, Peter Miller, Thomas Reardon, and Caldwell & Co.

If you, the reader, have an interest in any particular part of our county history, and wish to contribute to this effort, use the form on our Contact Us page to send us your comments about this, or any Bullitt County History page. We welcome your comments and suggestions. If you feel that we have misspoken at any point, please feel free to point this out to us.

The Bullitt County History Museum, a service of the Bullitt County Genealogical Society, is located in the county courthouse at 300 South Buckman Street (Highway 61) in Shepherdsville, Kentucky. The museum, along with its research room, is open 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday; and from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Thursday. Admission is free. The museum, as part of the Bullitt County Genealogical Society, is a 501(c)3 tax exempt organization and is classified as a 509(a)2 public charity. Contributions and bequests are deductible under section 2055, 2106, or 2522 of the Internal Revenue Code. Page last modified: 16 Jun 2021 . Page URL: bullittcountyhistory.org/bchistory/bc1852.html