Bullitt County History

Shepherdsville Mayors

The following list of Shepherdsville mayors is largely taken from photos at the Shepherdsville City Hall. Some of the dates are based on newspaper articles, and are estimates. Additions and corrections are encouraged.

1949-c.1950 - Carl McDaniel (First appointed Mayor)
c.1950 - Forrest L. Barger
1953-1961 - M. J. Cundiff
1962-1965 - B. C. Moser
1966-1969 - J. C. Thompson
1970-1973 - W. R. Bacon
1974-c.14 Jan 1976 - Margie Edington
c.1976-1985 - James Sparrow
1986-1989 - Adrian Jones
1990-1993 - Larry Hatfield
1994-1998 - Sherman Tinnell
1999-2006 - Joseph G. Sohm
2007-2010 - Sherman Tinnell
2011 to 2/9/2016 - Raymond Scott Ellis III (Resigned his office)
2/9/2016 to 8/30/2016 - Brian James
8/30/2016 to 9/7/2016 - Raymond Scott Ellis III (Reinstated by the Court)
9/27/2016-2023 - Curtis Hockenbury
2023-Present - Jose Cubero

If you, the reader, have an interest in any particular part of our county history, and wish to contribute to this effort, use the form on our Contact Us page to send us your comments about this, or any Bullitt County History page. We welcome your comments and suggestions. If you feel that we have misspoken at any point, please feel free to point this out to us.

The Bullitt County History Museum, a service of the Bullitt County Genealogical Society, is located in the county courthouse at 300 South Buckman Street (Highway 61) in Shepherdsville, Kentucky. The museum, along with its research room, is open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday. Saturday appointments are available by calling 502-921-0161 during our regular weekday hours. Admission is free. The museum, as part of the Bullitt County Genealogical Society, is a 501(c)3 tax exempt organization and is classified as a 509(a)2 public charity. Contributions and bequests are deductible under section 2055, 2106, or 2522 of the Internal Revenue Code. Page last modified: 12 Jan 2024 . Page URL: bullittcountyhistory.org/bchistory/mayors_shepherdsville.html