The Bullitt County History Museum
Arlington Cemetery

In Memoriam
For Those Who Sacrificed All
Bullitt Countians Who Died
While in Military Service

War of 1812

Private Jacob Hardy

American Civil War (1861-1865)
497,821 Americans Died in This War.
From Bullitt County:

Henry Ash
Ben Barnett
D. L. Brooks
Joseph Buckman
Alexander Burton
Edward Caldwell
Thomas Clark
Ben Cole
Henry Croan (Crone)
James Easton
John J. Garrett (Garrott)
Charles Hardesty
Christian Harshfield
James A. Hill Jr.
Joseph Hoglan
Richard Hoglan (Hogland)
John Holsclaw
John Jackson
Daniel Jenkins
Aaron L. Kaufman
Charles S. Macey
James Masden
Jesse McWilliams
John P. Mix
Lorenzo Murphy
Theodore Pearl
W. D. Raymond
Lt. (Dr.) John William Rogers
F.B. Smith
John Smith
Allen A. Snellen
Joe Southern
Richard Southern
James Stoner
William Stoner
Darwin Stoner
James Sweeney
William H. Tumey
Caleb Welch
Capt. S.B. Williams
Thomas Withers
William Younger

World War I (1917-1918)
890 Kentuckians were killed in action; 1528 died from accident or disease.
From Bullitt County:

Julian Bell
David Boston
Bruce H. Bridwell
Hubert Allen Dragoo
Herman Evans
Basil Glasgow
Lou Pearl Hibbs
Everett Vernon Holsclaw
PVT John W. Lewis
PVT Charles Milam
CPL David Millard Troutman
Elmer F Monroe
CPL Roy V Ogle
PVT Lilburn Radcliff
PVT Edward L. Sanders
Sgt Oscar Paul Schaefer
Frank Smith
SGT Wallace L Smith
PVT Horrie C Thompson
PVT Curt T Wise
James E. Wyatt

World War II (1940-1947)
7,917 Kentuckians were killed in action in this war.
From Bullitt County:

SSG Robert L. Abell
TEC5 Thomas E. Armstrong
SGT Robert J. Beeler
SGT Johnny W. Bishop
CPL Clarence W. Boulware
PFC Luke R. Briscoe Jr.
Emmett H. Brown
SGT John E. Brown Jr.
PFC William N. Caulk
PFC Leo M. Clark
1LT Robert E. Crouch
Marvin Devore
PFC Bernie Druin
3C, USNR Elmore Roscoe Easton
Samuel S. Gore
Joseph L. Nevius Harned
TM1 Paul O’Bryan Hayden
TSG James Woodford Jackson
SGT Malcolm W. Jenkins
TSG Charles R. Lee
PVT Leslie E. Logsdon
PVT Charles L. Mann
PFC William B. Merker
PVT Jarriet T Moore
PVT Charles B. Montgomery MIA
Tec-5 William T. Moser
PFC Thomas Mullins
Jack Priest
TEC5 Millard H. Proctor
SSG Archy T. Raymond
PFC Commie L. Robison
TEC5 William Dean Rouse
PVT Roy L. Rummage
PFC Nicholas (Nick) Steinlander Jr.
PFC William E. Thompson
2LT Willard F. Wright
Clyde Bradley York

Korean Conflict (1950-1955)
1,002 Kentuckians died; 203 missing in action.
From Bullitt County:

PVT Homer Ballou
CPL Charles C. Flener
PFC Robert Vernon Goldsmith
PFC Charles Kenneth Harned
PFC J. P. Hatcher
PFC Elmer C. McElvain
PFC Harry E. Phelps
PVT Robert Sipes

Vietnam War (1964-1975)
1,088 Kentuckians died in this conflict; 14 missing in action.
From Bullitt County:

Donald E. Baker
SP/4 Thomas Lee Blatz
SSGT Harold Milton Brown
SP/4 Danny Dale Burkhead
Capt. James Jay Crawford
Sp/5 Franklin Tarter Huff
GSGT Lee Roy James
CWO William Patrick Milliner MIA

Afghanistan and Iraq (Ongoing)
From Bullitt County:

Corporal Thomas P. Echols
Sgt. Maj. Steven Faulkenburg
MSG Michael E. Martin
Spc. James E. Powell
SSG Gary L. Woods

Bullitt Countians Who Died While in Service in Peacetime

SSG William Robert Brian; Died April 10, 1986
Airman 1st Class Rodney Leroy Brown; Died May 21, 1963
PVT James Parker Morton; Died 1959
Leland Howard Shepherd, 1941

Volunteers at the Bullitt County History Museum have been compiling this list recognizing Bullitt Countians who have died or MIA in service of our country over the years. Such a list has been surprisingly hard to build, and we seek your help. This is what we have so far.

If you have any information that might help us fulfill this humble effort to honor our fallen heroes, please let us know.

The Bullitt County History Museum, a service of the Bullitt County Genealogical Society, is located in the county courthouse at 300 South Buckman Street (Highway 61) in Shepherdsville, Kentucky. The museum, along with its research room, is open 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday; and from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Thursday. Admission is free. The museum, as part of the Bullitt County Genealogical Society, is a 501(c)3 tax exempt organization and is classified as a 509(a)2 public charity. Contributions and bequests are deductible under section 2055, 2106, or 2522 of the Internal Revenue Code. Page last modified: 28 Jan 2020 . Page URL: